Return to Headlines

Boerne ISD Names 2022 Athletic Hall of Honor

2022 Athletic Hall of HonorJune 13th, 2022- The Boerne Independent School District has named the Athletic Hall of Honor Class of 2022 Inductees. This year’s recipients are Bradley Suttle (Baseball), Jeff Voight (Basketball), Matt Toohey (Golf), Jaclyn (Toohey) Yarbrough (Volleyball), and Marla (Troester) McDonald (Golf), as well as Harry Fish earning the Bill Canavan Memorial Benefactor Award. 

“This year’s Boerne ISD Athletic Hall of Honor class is truly legendary,” said Boerne ISD Athletic Director and Athletic Hall of Honor Chair, Stan Leech. “The accomplishments of these amazing individuals represent the very best of Boerne ISD athletics, as well as the Boerne community. We are extremely proud to induct this special group of people to the Athletic Hall of Honor,” Leech concluded. 

Bradley Suttle was a key player on the Boerne Greyhounds 2004 Class 4A State Championship Baseball Team. In the State Semifinals that season, Suttle threw a complete game shutout against Port Neches Groves to lead Boerne to the championship game, and he scored a run in the final game to help clinch the state title. Those performances helped place him on the All-Tournament Team. During his tenure with the Greyhounds, he was named to the All-State Team in both his junior and senior seasons. 

Suttle, a 2005 Boerne High School graduate, was drafted by the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, but instead chose to attend The University of Texas. With the Longhorns, he was named an All-American as a freshman, as well as an Academic All-American in his Freshman and Sophomore years. After two seasons with the Longhorns he was drafted in the 4th round by the New York Yankees. Suttle played in a total of 318 minor league games over the course of four seasons.

Jeff Voight was a star player on the Boerne Greyhounds Boys Basketball team in the early 1980’s. He had a stellar career which saw him earn several statewide accolades, including 1983 Texas Association of Basketball Coaches (TABC) Third Team All-State and Texas Sportswriters Third Team All-State honors. Voight was selected to play in the 1983 Texas High School Coaches Association (THSCA) and TABC All-Star games that season. The Greyhounds won the Zone Championship in his sophomore and junior years and claimed the district title in his senior season.

Voight, a 1983 graduate of Boerne High School, went on to earn All-Conference honors while playing for Blinn Junior College in 1984-85, and was a member of the Texas Lutheran College team in 1986 and 1987. 

Matt Toohey and Jaclyn (Toohey) Yarbrough are the first siblings ever inducted into the BISD Athletic Hall of Honor in the same year. 

Matt Toohey was an All-State Golfer for the Boerne Greyhounds. In 1999, Toohey won six straight tournaments, including District and Regionals. In his senior year, Toohey, won the District Championship and was runner up at Regionals as an individual and helped the Greyhounds finish third in the state. In both seasons he was named to the All District, All Region, and All State Teams, as well as the San Antonio Express Greater San Antonio First Team and Player of the Year. He also earned the 2000 Boerne High School Scholar Athlete of the Year award. Toohey graduated from Boerne High School in 2001.

Toohey was a four-year letterman for the Rice University Men’s Golf Team, where he was named Golf Coaches Association of America Cleveland Golf All American Scholar, 

Western Athletic Conference Academic All-Conference from 2001-2005, and Western Athletic Conference Scholar Athlete Award 2002-2005. 

2003 Boerne High School graduate Jaclyn (Toohey) Yarbrough, was a four-year starter on the Greyhounds Volleyball team, and was named All-State her senior year, as well as Team MVP in her Junior and Senior seasons. She also was named to the 2003 San Antonio Express-News All Greater San Antonio First Team. Yarbrough earned All-District recognition multiple times, including 1st-Team All-District in her Junior and Senior years and 2nd-team All-District in her Freshman and Sophomore Years. 

Yarbrough was a four-year starter for the University of Mississippi Volleyball team, and was named to the All-SEC team in 2003. She was named SEC Scholar Athlete and Player of the week multiple times, and led Ole Miss to its first-ever NCAA tournament bid in 2003. 

Marla (Troester) McDonald was a standout golfer for the Boerne Greyhounds, qualifying for the State Tournament. While with the Greyhounds, Troester was the team’s Most Valuable Player three years in a row. She was also named All-District, Greater San Antonio Area First Team, as well as San Antonio Junior Golf Association Female Player of the Year. She won nine tournaments in her junior and senior seasons for Boerne leading the Greyhounds to district championships. She was a 2003 graduate of Boerne High School.

As a freshman, McDonald attended St. Mary’s University in San Antonio, where she won the 2004 Heartland Tournament Women’s Golf Championship, and helped lead the Rattlers to the team conference championship that season. She then transferred to Texas Tech where she lettered for the Red Raiders in three seasons.

Harry Fish is the recipient of the Bill Canavan Memorial Benefactor Award and has been instrumental in the growth and success of  Boerne High School athletics. Mr. Fish was a member of the Boerne ISD Board of Trustees, and secured the first lighted football field for Boerne in the early 1950’s, which was called Gordon Leesch Memorial Stadium. He also was the Greyhounds football announcer for over 25 years, and even announced many away games. Mr.Fish also served on the Boerne Public Library Board, the Boerne Chamber of Commerce Board, and many others.

Mr. Fish served in World War II and earned the Distinguished Flying Cross Air Medal. After serving in WWII he became a Boerne resident. Mr. Fish passed away in 2003 at the age of 85. 

The 2022 Athletic Hall of Honor members will be inducted on Friday, October 14th at 11:30 a.m. with a luncheon and awards ceremony at The Clubs of Cordillera Ranch. A limited number of tickets are available by calling the Boerne ISD Athletic Office at 830-357-2130.