Return to Headlines

Champion, Boerne Students Advance to Semifinals of Young Filmmakers Festival

February 8, 2024-  A total of eight Champion High School and Boerne High School student films qualified for the State Semifinals in the 2024 UIL Young Filmmakers Festival. film


Four films qualified in the Traditional Animation category, with three in the Digital Animation category, and one film in the Documentary category.


Over 700 entries from throughout the state competed in the categories of Digital Animation, Traditional Animation, Narrative, and Documentary, with only the top six from each category advancing to the finals.


The State Semifinal films are (click the links below to watch)


  • Traditional Animation Category,”Lost and Found”, Emma Barraza (Champion HS)
  • Traditional Animation Category, “Tidy Up”, Caroline Cabral (Champion HS)
  • Traditional Animation Category, “Distress Call”, Devin Jensen, Chris Harris, and Tanner Charlton (Champion HS)
  • Traditional Animation Category, “Shogun-key”, James Estrada, John Seigfried, and Tristan Allison (Boerne HS)
  • Digital Animation Category, “Soul Bound”, Freya Stromsness (Champion HS)
  • Digital Animation Category, “Moonstruck”, Amelia Wiederhold, Sean Filipe, and Cody Hausman (Champion HS)
  • Digital Animation Category, “Ceasefire!”, Mary Helen Bournais, Kiele Varela, Emma Eades, and Aeden Abel (Champion HS)
  • Documentary Category, “One of One”, Miyoko McDonald, Silas Wood, Blake Brixey (Champion HS)

Champion competes in class 5A while Boerne is in class 4A.


The UIL Young Filmmakers Festival will be held Wednesday, February 28 at the LBJ Auditorium at the University of Texas.