Return to Headlines

Boerne ISD Assistant Principal Named 2024 Assistant Principal of the Year for Texas

JoannouApril 2, 2024- Ensuring all students have access to rigorous and engaging learning experiences, Michael Joannou has created a supportive and inclusive community at Van Raub Elementary in Boerne ISD. Joannou’s exceptional leadership and commitment to students have led him to be named the 2024 NAESP National Outstanding Assistant Principal of the Year for Texas by the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA).


“Michael is a passionate instructional leader who models the importance of lifelong learning. He empowers teachers to improve their practice, supports their continuous growth and celebrates their achievements,” TEPSA Executive Director Harley Eckhart said. “He often trains alongside his teachers to ensure he provides relevant instructional support and guidance.”


Joannou has been instrumental in cultivating a sense of collective efficacy on campus. Teachers believe in and share responsibility for the growth of all students. As the campus Multi-Tiered Systems of Support (MTSS) facilitator, Joannou transformed focused intervention time to grade-level shared groups across the campus. This has provided opportunities to leverage teachers’ strengths to address learning gaps and allowed multiple teachers to work with individual students to enhance learning. Joannou believes the success of the school’s MTSS process was a contributing factor to Van Raub Elementary earning not only an A rating, but for the first time in the school’s history, two distinctions (for comparative growth and mathematics) from the Texas Education Agency.


“Mr. Joannou has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to the success and well-being of our students and staff. His role as the assistant principal in charge of MTSS has been instrumental in fostering a positive and inclusive learning environment,” Principal Summer Gault wrote in her recommendation letter. 


The NAESP National Outstanding Assistant Principal of the Year for Texas award is sponsored by TEPSA in coordination with the National Association of Elementary School Principals. The award recognizes assistant principals who have demonstrated a positive impact on students and learning. Criteria include:


  • A commitment to excellence and exceptional leadership as evidenced by student achievement and programs designed to meet the academic and social needs of all students.
  • Firmly established community ties and respect from teachers, students, and the community.
  • Exceptional leadership in a particular school program.


TEPSA is proud to have Horace Mann supporting the Texas program.


“We are honored to recognize exceptional leaders like Michael,” Lori Gray, Horace Mann Agency Consultant said. “As a leader, he has helped shape better professionals out of not only his team members but also those who learn from him. His influence is set to leave an enduring mark on all and it brings us great pleasure to recognize his achievements.”


Horace Mann is the largest national multiline insurance company focusing on educators’ financial needs. Horace Mann provides insurance specifically designed for educators. Horace Mann offers auto, home, life, and retirement products as well as supplemental products. In addition, Horace Mann recently enhanced the student loan platform, which is by Founded by Educators for Educators® in 1945, the company is headquartered in Springfield, Illinois. For more information, visit


TEPSA, whose hallmark is educational leaders learning with and from each other, has served Texas PK-8 school leaders since 1917. Member-owned and member-governed, TEPSA represents more than 6,000 members who direct the activities of more than 3 million PK-8 schoolchildren.